4 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Area in Drought – AgFax

Corn damaged by drought. Photo Phil Kaatz, Michigan State University

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to provide indispensable emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through an emergency loan. .

Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs including the replacement of valuables such as equipment or animals, the reorganization of a farming operation or the refinancing of certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available security and solvency.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties experienced an amount of drought during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought- Exceptional.

Affected Area: Nebraska

Triggered Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 13, 2023

Primary Counties that Qualify: Adams, Clay, Deuel and Keith

Adjacent counties also qualify:


Arthur Hardin Lincoln Perkins
buffalo Hall McPherson Webster
Cheyenne Hamilton Nuckolls York
Fillmore Kearney

Colorado: Sedgwick

More Resources

At, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you identify program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to inquire about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.