5 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas from Drought – AgFax

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to provide indispensable emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergencies. loan.

Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs including the replacement of valuables such as equipment or animals, the reorganization of a farming operation or the refinancing of certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available security and solvency.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties experienced a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought- Exceptional.

Affected Area: South Dakota

Triggered Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Ene. 13, 2023

Qualifying Primary Counties: Dewey, Haakon, Jackson, Stanley and Ziebach

Adjacent counties also qualify:

South Dakota:

Bennett Lyman Pennington Sully
Corson Meade Perkins Todd
Hughes Mellette Potter Walworth
Jones Oglala Lakota

More Resources

At, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you identify program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to inquire about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.