6 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas for Freeze, Strong Winds-AgFax

Corn seedlings after freezing. Photo: Rome Ethredge, University of Georgia

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to provide indispensable emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through an emergency loan. .

Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs including the replacement of valuables such as equipment or animals, the reorganization of a farming operation or the refinancing of certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available security and solvency.

Affected Area: South Carolina

Disaster Trigger: Freezing temperatures and strong winds occurred from March 12 to March 14, 2022.

Application Deadline: Feb. 28, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Cherokee, Edgefield, Greenville, Saluda, Spartanburg and Union

Adjacent counties also qualify:

South Carolina: Abbeville, Aiken, Anderson, Chester, Fairfield, Greenwood, Laurens, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Pickens and York
Georgia: Columbia and Richmond
North Carolina: Cleveland, Henderson, Polk, Rutherford and Transylvania

More Resources

At, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you identify program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to inquire about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.