7 Natural Disaster Counties of Georgia and ASF in the Dominican Republic

7 Natural Disaster Counties of Georgia and ASF in the Dominican Republic

From the Ag Information Network, I’m Bob Larson with your Agribusiness Update.

** Seven Georgia counties have been designated natural disaster areas due to flooding and freezing temp.

According to, this designation allows the USDA Farm Service Agency to extend the required emergency credit to manufacturers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans to meet recovery needs.

The designated counties are Gordon, Union, Echols, Lowndes, Atkinson, Coffee, and Ware.

** The USDA Economic Research Service, which conducts an annual assessment of global food security, estimates there are 1.2 billion people without food security this year, an increase of 32% from 2020. reports, this means that nearly 31% of the population in the 76 countries covered by the study are not getting the 2,100 calories they need on a daily basis. Almost 72% of them are in Asia, with 21% in Africa.

The ERS estimates the food insecure population will fall to 638 million people by 2031.

** The recent confirmation of African swine fever in the Dominican Republic is the first in the Western Hemisphere in 40 years.

President and CEO of the U.S. Meat Export Federation Dan Halstrom said as far as the ASF findings are concerned, the U.S. is prepared and extensive precautions are being taken to protect the health of our herd.

But, Halstrom stressed that it increases the need for U.S. regional protocols that allow exports from unaffected areas to proceed in the event of a U.S. outbreak.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.