Mitchell, Yancey, Avery Among Farmers’ Disaster Declarations From “Fred”

The Country’s Three Highlands are among 12 Primary and 6 Adjacent provinces declared disaster areas as a result of rain and flooding from Tropical Storm Fred in August.

The Department of Agriculture’s designation makes farm operators in both the primary and contiguous provinces eligible to be considered for certain assistance including emergency loans from the FSA.

Farmers in eligible provinces have eight months to apply for emergency loans. Mitchell and Yancey are among the major assignment counties, while the neighboring districts of Avery and Burke are contiguous assignment counties.

Residents of these counties can apply for FSA emergency loans online and get more information at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.