Osborne County, Kan., Designated as a major natural disaster area

This natural disaster secretarial designation allows the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Department of Agriculture to extend the required emergency credit to manufacturers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs including replacement of essential items such as equipment or animals, reorganizing a farming operation or refinancing certain debts. The FSA will review debts based on the extent of losses, available security and ability to repay.

Effective Area: Kansas

Triggering Disaster: Excessive rainfall and flash flooding that occurred from May 16 to May 20, 2021.

Application Deadline: April 11, 2022

Primary County Eligible: Osborne

Adjacent Countries Also Eligible: Ellis, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Rooks, Russell and Smith

At, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance Fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery tool can help you identify program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to inquire about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.